Endowed Lectureships

The William M. Allen - Boeing Lectureship and Student Investment Endowment was funded by gifts from Grant and Nancy Silvernale, ’50 and ’56, and Dorothy and N.S. Penrose, Jr. ’55. Nancy and Dorothy’s father, William Allen, was president of Boeing Company from 1945 to 1968. This endowment provides funding for seminars and presentations with professionals distinguished in the business field, as well as providing support for the student-led Whitman Investment Company.

The Sava and Danica Andjelkovic Endowed Lectureship was established by Vojislav Andjelkovic ’94 in honor of his parents, Sava and Danica Andjelkovic. An international student from Belgrade, Voja earned his baccalaureate degree in economics and went on to a career in investment banking. The Sava and Danica Andjelkovic Endowed Fund annually provides funding to bring to campus alumni, parents of current students or graduates, and others associated with the college to speak to current students about their careers.

The Virgil Robert and Mary L. Bierman Endowment was established with a bequest from Mary L. Bierman. Income from this endowment is to be used for lectures and conferences on the history of the American West or related projects on Western history.

The Walter Houser Brattain Lectureship in Science was established by his wife, Emma Jane Kirsch Brattain. This fund brings a distinguished lecturer in science to the campus to honor Nobel Laureate Walter H. Brattain ’24.

The Howard S. Brode Memorial Fund was established by his three sons, each of whom attained eminence in science after their graduation from Whitman. Howard S. Brode served for 36 years as professor of biology at Whitman. The income from this fund is to be used to bring to Whitman College visiting lecturers in the fields of biology, chemistry, and physics.

George Pierre Castile-Anthropology was established through the estate of Dr. George Pierre Castile, the founder of Whitman College’s Anthropology Department and a Professor of Anthropology for 35 years from 1971 until his retirement in 2006. The income from this endowment brings to campus dynamic speakers who supplement subjects and perspectives in the field of anthropology.

The Virginia Penrose Cagley Lectureship in Foreign Languages and Literatures was established from her estate by her sisters, Mary Penrose Copeland and Frances Penrose Owen. The income from this endowment supports a distinguished visiting lecturer or lecturers in foreign languages and literature.

The George Pierre Castile Anthropology Endowment was established through the estate of Dr. George Pierre Castile, the founder of Whitman College’s Anthropology Department and a Professor of Anthropology for 35 years from 1971 until his retirement in 2006. The income from this endowment brings to campus dynamic speakers who supplement subjects and perspectives in the field of anthropology.

The Classical Liberalism Speakers Fund supports outside speakers who address topics from the classic liberal tradition. It was established by Stephen Soske ’82, Bill Montgomery ’61, John A. Peterson ’54, and an alumna from the Class of 1944, among others.

The Robert and Mabel Groseclose Endowed Lecture Fund was established with funds from the estate of Robert and Mabel Groseclose, friends of Whitman College who owned a mortuary in Walla Walla. The lectureship is designed to bring notable and interesting speakers and artists to Whitman College and to provide the people of Walla Walla and Whitman students with a wider perspective of the outside world. In addition to supporting the William O. Douglas Lecture, the lectureship also makes possible the Visiting Educator Program.

The Robert R. Hosokawa Endowment was established by David and Beverly Hosokawa in honor of David’s father, Robert Hosokawa ’40, who worked as a newspaper reporter and editor on several papers in Missouri, New York, Iowa, and Minnesota. This endowment provides funds for a distinguished journalist to come to Whitman each year to give lectures and workshops for students interested in journalism careers and also gives cash awards for distinguished student journalism.

The Henry M. Jackson Endowed Lectureship in International Relations was established to honor the memory and work of the late senior senator from the state of Washington, Henry M. Jackson. The Jackson Lectureship in International Relations brings speakers to the campus for the purpose of perpetuating discussion in the area of the senator’s own great influence.

The Judd D. Kimball Lectureship Endowment in the Classics was established by Ruth Baker Kimball, in memory of her husband, Judd Kimball. Mr. Kimball was a member of the Class of 1929 who served as a member of the Board of Overseers and was a civic leader in the Walla Walla community.

The Vern Kinsinger Memorial Lectureship was established to honor the memory of Vern Kinsinger. The income from this fund shall support a distinguished student-oriented visiting lecturer each year.

The Governor Arthur B. Langlie Fund for Northwest History, Politics, and Public Service provides funds to bring influential lecturers in these areas to campus. The endowment was established in honor of Gov. Langlie by his grandchildren, Whitman graduates Karin Langlie Glass ’78 and Arthur K. Langlie ’89.

The Charles R. Lewis Lectureship in Political Science was established in 1975 with funds from the Estate of Helen Frater Lewis, Class of 1913, to honor her husband Charles R. Lewis, Class of 1911.

The David and Madeleine Maxwell Lectureship in Multicultural Issues recognizes the contributions of the 11th president of Whitman and his wife to the college.

The Genevieve Patterson Perry Endowment for the Study of Economics was established by Louis B. Perry to honor his wife, Genevieve Patterson Perry, who was educated as an economist at UCLA and who served Whitman College admirably as a leadership partner during the 1959-1967 presidency of her husband. This endowment provides for one or more distinguished visiting speakers in the general areas of economic policy and business ethics to give public lectures and visit classes during the college year.

The Arthur G. Rempel Lectureship in Biology was founded by former students in honor of Arthur G. Rempel, Ph.D., and his accomplishments as a distinguished teacher, scholar, and professor at Whitman College.

The Sivert O. and Marjorie Allen Skotheim Endowment for Historical Studies was established by Robert Allen and Nadine Skotheim. Income from this fund is used to bring a distinguished lecturer in historical studies to Whitman College.

The Cecile E. Steele Lectureship was established by the Sigma Chi fraternity to honor Cecile E. Steele on the occasion of her 20th anniversary as house mother for the Sigma Chi chapter at Whitman College.

The Frances Penrose Owen/Colleen Willoughby Women’s Leadership Endowment was established by the Board of Trustees in honor of Frances Penrose Owen ’19 (the daughter of the third president of Whitman College, Stephen B.L. Penrose), and Trustee Emerita Colleen Willoughby ’55. This endowment supports lectures, seminars, events, or other opportunities to highlight women in leadership or to inspire young women to become involved in their communities and effect social change — causes that Frances Penrose Owen and Colleen Willoughby worked for individually and together for many years.