The Divisions

The academic departments of the college and the courses of instruction are grouped into the Social Sciences division, the Humanities and Arts division, the Basic Sciences and Mathematics and Statistics division, General Studies, and Interdisciplinary Studies. Chair of the Faculty: Rebecca Hanrahan.

DIVISION I: Social Sciences: Departments of Anthropology, Economics, History, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, and Sport Studies, Recreation and Athletics as well as courses in the Library. John Cotts, Chair  

DIVISION II: Humanities and Arts: Departments of Art, Art History, Classics, English, Hispanic Studies, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Rhetoric, Writing and Public Discourse, and Theater and Dance, and Global Literatures. Lydia M. McDermott, Chair.

DIVISION III: Science and Mathematics and Statistics: Departments of Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geology, Mathematics and Statistics, and Physics as well as courses in Science.  Albert Schueller, Chair.

GENERAL STUDIES: Distribution Requirements and First-Year Seminars (GENS 175, 176).

INTERDISCIPLINARY STUDIES: Asian and Middle Eastern Studies, Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Molecular Biology (BBMB), Environmental Studies, Film and Media Studies, Gender Studies, German Studies, Indigeneity, Race, and Ethnicity Studies, and Latin American Studies, as well as courses in Interdisciplinary Studies.