Whitman's Faculty

Whitman College’s full-time faculty currently numbers 175. In addition to their dedication to teaching and advising, Whitman faculty members conduct an impressive amount of original research.

Believing that an active professional life supports enthusiasm in teaching and advising, the college encourages faculty members’ scholarly work through sabbatical’s program, funding for faculty professional scholarship, and other resources. During recent years, Whitman faculty members have been recipients of awards such as the Graves Award in the Humanities and the Lynwood W. Swanson Scientific Research Award. Members of the faculty have garnered honors and fellowships from the National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health, National Endowment for the Humanities, M.J. Murdock Trust, American Chemical Society, U.S. Fulbright Program, Ploughshares Fund, and other agencies.

Faculty members, with the president and the provost/dean of the faculty, are responsible for basic academic policy and for the formulation of the curriculum. The faculty also has a responsibility for student life and welfare.